Skip to main content

Associated Societies (University of Edinburgh)



Historically, the University of Edinburgh had two types of student societies - associated and non-associated. As the former suggests, this was due to those societies having come together to form an Association, governed by a Council of Delegates.

With beginnings in academic year 1831/2, the Association was formesd in 1833/4, the five original constituent societies being: Scots Law, Plinian, Hunterian Medical, Dialectic and Diagnostic Societies. The office of Honorary President of the Associated Societies was instituted in 1853.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

Records of the Associated Societies

 Fonds — Multiple Containers
Identifier: EUA GD45
Scope and Contents

Currently uncatalogued and unlisted.

Dates: 19th century?