Skip to main content

Thomson, Charles Wyville, 1830-1882 (naturalist and professor of natural history, University of Edinburgh)


Found in 7 Collections and/or Records:

Bundle of natural history notes taken down by James Cossar Ewart, [c. 1872]

Identifier: Coll-14/7/2
Scope and Contents From the Series: Contains lecture notes, two printed works and one textbook annotated by Ewart.
Dates: [c. 1872]

Correspondence of Sir Archibald Geikie: William Johnson Sollas to WC Trevelyan, 1870-1915

Identifier: Coll-74/13/8
Scope and Contents The Correspondence of Sir Archibald Geikie: William Johnson Sollas to WC Trevelyan sub-series includes letters from: William Johnson Sollas Henry Clifton Sorby Eduard Seuss William Kirby Sullivan Ralph Tate Jethro Justinian Harris Teall Charles Wyville Thomson Ramsay Heatley Traquair ...
Dates: 1870-1915

Letter to James Cossar Ewart from Edwin Ray Lankester, 28 October 1881

Identifier: Coll-14/9/1/10
Scope and Contents Lankester states that, following the resignation of Charles Wyville Thomson, Professor of Natural History at the University of Edinburgh, he is to prepare a book of testimonials and requests that Ewart writes in favour of him.
Dates: 28 October 1881

Letter to James Cossar Ewart from Sir William Abbott Herdman, 25 June 1915

Identifier: Coll-14/9/21/13
Scope and Contents Herdman responds to Ewart's enquiries about himself by claiming that he had nothing to do with the HMS Challenger expedition, although he was one of Wyville Thomson's 'young men' at the 'Challenger Office'. He goes on to describe his work on the Tunicata collected on the voyage, and provides some more biographical information.
Dates: 25 June 1915

Letter to James Cossar Ewart from Theodor Mortensen, 28 June 1906

Identifier: Coll-14/9/12/18
Scope and Contents Mortensen writes concerning his query about P. phiale, a type of Pourtalesia, which he is trying to identify correctly from Wyville Thomson's description in his 'Memoir on the Echinoidea of the Porcupine Expedition' (1874) and from A. Agasse's report on the Challenger expedition. He asks if Ewart whether the 'Edinburgh Museum' might have a specimen for him to compare with his own.
Dates: 28 June 1906

Papers and other material relating to C. Wyville Thomson

Identifier: Coll-1327
Scope and Contents The material in the collection consists of: - at E94.90: a letter from Charles Wyville Thomson written on 2 June 1850 at the home of the Reverend Ainslie and addressed to 'My Dear Sir' - it refers to how he had met with a kind reception from Mr. and Mrs. Ainslie who 'pressed him to dine with them and to take a bed at their home', and how the following day they were to take him to Sir David Brewster's - the...
Dates: 1841-1874