Skip to main content

Carruthers, William, 1830-1922 (botanist, Keeper of the Department of Botany, British Museum)

 Person

Found in 9 Collections and/or Records:

Collection of 19th-century autograph letters assembled by the Rev. John Walker

 Fonds
Identifier: Coll-2103
Scope and Contents This collection consists of c. 200 letters acquired by the Rev. John Walker (1855-1941), a Scottish-Australian autograph collector. The main fields of interest represented are geology, botany, theology, literature, academia, and politics. Names that feature particularly prominently include Walker's uncle John Stuart Blackie, Professor of Greek at the University of Edinburgh; William Garden Blaikie, Professor of Divinity at New College, Edinburgh; James Geikie, Professor of Geology at the...
Dates: 1792-1913

Letter from The Royal Society, to Charles Lyell, 30 November 1858 - 1864

 File — Box Box 3.3: Series Coll-203/B1
Identifier: Coll-203/B1/85
Scope and Contents

Letters containing an extract from the Address of the President of the Royal Society on presenting The Copley Medal to Sir Charles Lyell and an extract from the Proceedings of the Royal Society, No. 78; Obituary notice concerning Leonard Horner, 1785-1864.

Dates: 30 November 1858 - 1864

Letter to James Cossar Ewart from Henry John Elwes, 16 November 1911

 Item
Identifier: Coll-14/9/17/77
Scope and Contents

Elwes writes that he is sending Ewart his paper for him to check, and asks him to select some photographs after consulting Eagle Clarke. He is also returning the original application as altered by Wallace, and recommends that Ewart make contact with Carruthers.

Dates: 16 November 1911

Letter to James Cossar Ewart from Henry John Elwes, 25 November [1911]

 Item
Identifier: Coll-14/9/17/79
Scope and Contents

Elwes writes that he has no doubt that Carruthers will publish his discoveries when he returns. He asks that Ewart return the proof of his paper by 01 December at the latest. He commiserates over Ewart's farm and promises to help him when he returns to England the following year.

The year is not written on the letter.

Dates: 25 November [1911]

Letter to James Cossar Ewart from Henry John Elwes, 10 June 1912

 Item
Identifier: Coll-14/9/18/41
Scope and Contents

Elwes writes that he has presented the three sheep skins collected by Carruthers to the British Museum on condition that they are mounted at once. He describes the wool of the sheep in the Calcutta Zoological Gardens and recommends that Ewart sees them when he goes. He has applied for a space at Bristol (the Royal Agricultural Show) the following year to exhibit a selection of his pure breeds and crosses, and asks Ewart to join him.

Dates: 10 June 1912

Letters from Carruthers, William to Charles Lyell, 29 August 1866 - 21 November 1873

 File — Box Box 1.2: Series Coll-203/1 (Lyell 1)
Identifier: Coll-203/1/45
Scope and Contents Notes by William Carruthers – a slip of paper referred to in Coll-203 Gen. 109 Lyell 1/527, giving detailed botanical editorial instructions concerning kelp and the growth of coal period trees, vegetation patterns and the resultant fossils. c 29 August 1866 Letter relating to fossils found in coal including Pothocites, Autholithes, [Carfioliltes] Helictoides. He mentions an ongoing scientific discussion between Brongniart, Ettingshausen and Morris as to the determination of the species...
Dates: 29 August 1866 - 21 November 1873

Miscellaneous letters A-J, 1791- 1884

 File
Identifier: Coll-203/B2/1
Scope and Contents Letters addressed to Charles Lyell, to Lady Mary Lyell, Katharine Lyell and other recipients including: 'A' Undated note from [Ahoard?] on Baron Steuben, accompanied by an original signed bank cheque written to pay T Lopez twenty dollars in New York 6th February 1791 'B' 22 June 1870 from O Becconi 'C' Undated letter, to 'dear friend' but likely to be...
Dates: 1791- 1884

Notebook No.258, 22 April 1870-3 July 1871

 Item — Box Lyell-temp-box 9: Series Coll-203/A1
Identifier: Coll-203/A1/258
Scope and Contents This black Notebook is annotated with Lyell's name, address at 73 Harley Street, London. The Notebook begins with the end a tour of Devon - started in the previous Notebook 257 - with Lyell in Barnstaple. Mostly written by Buckley, there are sections of very poor writing at times, which could be Lyell's own. From Devon to Bristol Clifton Bridge and Bath. Time following up queries and visiting the British Museum in London is followed by train to Glasgow with Mary and Leonard, then to the Isle...
Dates: 22 April 1870-3 July 1871

Papers of the Rev. John Fleming, Professor of Natural Philosophy (1785-1857)

 Fonds
Identifier: GD23
Scope and Contents The collection is composed of: letter from Mrs Melville Fleming, widow, to William Carruthers, Keeper of the Dept. of Botany, British Museum, 1865, within a copy of The lithology of Edinburgh; box of scientific papers mainly delivered at meetings of learned societies, 1808-1857; letters of S. W. Carruthers to Adam Mitchell Hunter, 1930 and 1931, contained within Memoir of Rev. John Fleming, D.D., F.R.S.E.; also loosely inserted within...
Dates: 1808-1931

Additional filters:

Type
Archival Object 7
Collection 2
 
Subject
Lyell, Sir Charles, 1797-1875 (1st Baronet | Scottish geologist) -- correspondence to 2
Proofreading 2
article 2
Agricultural exhibitions 1
Athenæum Club (London, England) 1