Skip to main content

Records of the Curators of Patronage, 1820-1961

Identifier: EUA IN1/GOV/PAT

Scope and Contents

Statutory & legal documents

Items relating to operational procedures

Sederunt Books, minutes & agenda

Draft Commissions by Curators


Newspaper cuttings


  • Creation: 1820-1961


Language of Materials


Conditions Governing Access

Certain material may be restricted due to Data Protection and other legislative reasons.

Biographical / Historical

Prior to 1858, patronage was exercised by the Town Council. When the university became self-governing in 1858, the same Act transferred the patronage of seventeen chairs to seven Curators, three elected by the University Court and four by the Town Council. The Curators now have the patronage of sixteen Chairs and a share in the patronage of the Chairs of Agriculture, Civil Law, Constitutional Law, Conveyancing, Humanity, Scots Law, and Economic Science. They hold office for three years.


5 boxes

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Accession: Acc 1995/032

Repository Details

Part of the University of Edinburgh Library Heritage Collections Repository

Centre for Research Collections
University of Edinburgh Main Library
George Square
Edinburgh EH8 9LJ Scotland
+44(0)131 650 8379