Skip to main content

Res.2.20 Female resident, c.30 yrs, married, corporation tenant, male interviewer, 27 April 1961

Identifier: EUA IN1/ACU/S3/4/2/2/20

Scope and Contents

Topics discussed include: Living accommodation; extended family; neighbourhood and quarrels about children; Gorgie; work; money; leisure; shopping.

The interview was conducted entirely on the doorstep which INTVER notes is a difficulty for unannounced calls in particular when the interviewer is male and interviewee female. She lives with her husband and three children (8, 5 and 3 yrs) in a three-apartment ground floor flat in a block of four. They previously lived in furnished rooms for £2 10s a week, they had no bath but an inside WC but it got too overcrowded with the children so applied for a corporation house. She prefers their new house, it is not as noisy, there are fewer children and more old people but not as handy for the shops. The bedrooms can be cold, the heating is through a back boiler fire in the sitting room. INTVEE says she likes to be by herself but INTVER thinks she is quite lonely and typical of a home-tied young mother with children to keep her at home but not enough to interest her there. INTVEE says there are always rows with the neighbours about the children. There are 13 children on her stair and 18 on the stair next door. She received no information about the house or neighbourhood before moving in. Her husband goes out to work early and comes back at 8 or 9 at night, he is active in the union. She thinks he has settled better and likes the neighbourhood but he doesn't have to live in it all day. She would like to go out to work part time when her youngest goes to school. The woman across the road looks after children during the day and three of them are coloured - their parents work at the university, there is also a coloured teacher at the new West Pilton School and she is very good. These are the only coloured people she is aware of, she thinks it's stupid that some people don't want to mix with them. On child discipline she is quoted as saying "Well if they absolutely just won't do what they're told I do hit them". Generally she thinks children are much cheekier than they used to be and parents don't seem to care. They have not been on holiday this year but she thinks it is important to have regular holidays, they like hiring a car and caravan and going round the highlands. Her husband earns £14 a week and gives her £7 a week. She likes the television - she watches Wagon Train and Emergency Ward 10. She feels a bit guilty about letting her children stay up in their pyjamas to watch the television, they go to bed when it finishes at 9.30pm. She shops at Hays in Davidsons Mains because it's cheaper.


  • Other: 27 April 1961

Conditions Governing Access

Public access to these records is governed by UK data protection legislation. Whilst some records may be accessed freely by researchers, the aforementioned legislation means that records conveying personal information on named individuals may be closed to the public for a set time. Where records relate to named deceased adults, they will be open 75 years after the latest date referenced in the record, on the next 1 January. Records relating to individuals below 18 years of age or adults not proven to be deceased will be open 100 years after the latest date recorded in the record, on the next 1 January.


9 Sheets


Repository Details

Part of the University of Edinburgh Library Heritage Collections Repository

Centre for Research Collections
University of Edinburgh Main Library
George Square
Edinburgh EH8 9LJ Scotland
+44(0)131 650 8379