Skip to main content

Papers relating to the Brain Injuries Committee (B.I.C.), 2 September 1939-28 February 1942

Identifier: Coll-32/B.17-B.30

Scope and Contents

This sub-subseries contains papers relating to the Brain Injuries Committee (B.I.C.). The Committee was appointed by the Medical Research Council to co-ordinate research, circulate information, maintain records and make recommendations for research. The Chairman was Edgar Douglas Adrian (later Lord), and Secretary was E.A. Carmichael. Members of the Committee included: Fredrick Charles Bartlett, Hugh.(W.B.) Cairns, M. Critchley, Norman Dott, Joseph Godwin Greenfield, Geoffrey Jefferson, A. Lewis, E. Prideaux, George Riddoch and Charles Putnam Symonds. The committee papers are presented in chronological order of the meetings, together with memos. and reports for discussion. Almost all the papers have manuscript notes and comments by Dott. Correspondence, etc. relating to a particular meeting or point of discussion has been left in the sequence.


  • Creation: 2 September 1939-28 February 1942

Language of Materials


Conditions Governing Access

Available to researchers on application, but some restrictions apply due to Data Protection legislation. Please contact the repository in advance.


14 Files

Related Materials


Repository Details

Part of the University of Edinburgh Library Heritage Collections Repository

Centre for Research Collections
University of Edinburgh Main Library
George Square
Edinburgh EH8 9LJ Scotland
+44(0)131 650 8379