Skip to main content

Minute Book No 9, 1897-1924

 Item — Volume: MS 2919.1
Identifier: Coll-43/1/9

Scope and Contents

Volume containing minutes of ordinary meetings and details of the Society's business. This includes the nomination and election of members such as Henry Briggs in 1908. It also details excursions taken by the society, including one lead by Benjamin Neeve Peach to Lanarkshire. Papers read at meetings and publications in Transactions of the Edinburgh Geological Society are also covered. There is also an obituary to Charles Lapworth.

Presidents during this period included John Horne, Henry Moubray Cadell, John George Goodchild, Benjamin Neeve Peach, John Smith Flett, Thomas John Jehu and Edward Battersby Bailey.

A large number of items are pasted into the notebook. These include billets of meetings, billets of excursions, lists of office-bearers and reports by office-bearers. Newspaper clippings, giving full reports of business and transcripts of the papers read, are included after most of the minutes.


  • Creation: 1897-1924


Physical Description

1 volume


From the Series: 14 Volumes