Skip to main content

Music collection of Professor Sir Herbert Stanley Oakeley

 Fonds — Multiple Containers
Identifier: Coll-450

Content Description

The collection contains music, orchestrations and arrangements for strings, wind, brass etc by Professor Sir Herbert Stanley Oakeley. Many of the sheets are stamped Edinburgh University, Musical Society. There are also board-mounted diplomas and certificates, with list of these.

Music in Box 1:

  • Die Ehre Gottes in der Natur
  • It was a friar of orders grey
  • The Briton's fatherland
  • Volkslied by Mendelsohn
  • Freedom
  • Up in the morning early
  • Die Wacht am Rhein
  • Thuringian Volkslied
  • Alma mater
  • Scots wha hae
  • Duncan Grey
  • Ye banks and braes
  • Polka serenade
  • Canadian boat song
  • Here's a health unto Her Majesty
  • The two roses
  • Drink to me only
  • Whae'll be King but Charlie
  • Ever be happy and light

Music in Box 2:

  • The red wine flows
  • Der Vampyr by Marschner
  • O wert thou
  • Come away - Polka serenade
  • Shall I tell you
  • Kelvin Grove
  • Here's to the year that's awa
  • War song - Locheil's March
  • Maiden fair
  • Schwertlied - Sword song
  • O happy fair
  • You gentlemen of Britain
  • Home they brought the warrior dead
  • Coro - Non far motto - Lucrezio Borgia
  • Glorious Apollo
  • The winds whistle cold - Glee and chorus
  • O ruddier thou the cherry
  • Aquipense-t-il?
  • Omnia vineit amor

The board-mounted diplomas and certificates are:

  • L'Accademia de' Quiriti, Rome, 1865
  • Professorship of Music, Edinburgh, 1865
  • Doctor of Music, Canterbury, 1871
  • Doctor of Music, Oxford, 1879
  • LL.D. University of Aberdeen, 1881
  • Composer of Music to Her Majesty in Scotland, 1881
  • Member of the Philharmonic Society, London, 1884
  • LL.D. University of Toronto, 1886
  • LL.D. Trinity College, London, 1887
  • Doctor of Music, Trinity, Dublin, 1887
  • Address from the University Choral Society, Dublin, 1887
  • Doctor of Music, University of St. Andrews, 1888
  • Hon. Member, La Reale Accademia Filarmonica di Bologna, 1888
  • Diploma of Fellowship of Guild of Organists, 1889
  • Diploma of Fellowship of Church Choir Guild, 1889
  • Hon. Member, Academie Litteraire & Musicale de France, 1889
  • Diploma, Circolo Promotore Partenopeo, Giambattista Vigo, Naples, 1889
  • Diploma, Unione Operaja Umberto I delle Societa di Mutuo Soccorso, Naples, 1899
  • Diploma, Propaganda di Scienza Popolare, Naples, 1889
  • LL.D. University of Edinburgh, 1891
  • Hon. Member, Reale Academia S. Caeciliae, Rome, 1892
  • Hon. Member, La Reale Accademia Filarmonica, Rome, 1894
  • Doctor of Music, University of Adelaide, 1895
  • Doctor of Music, University of Edinburgh, 1899
  • LL.D. University of Glasgow, 1901


  • Creation: 1855-1901


Conditions Governing Access

The collection is in poor condition and will need to be reviewed by an archivist before access is granted. Please contact repository for details in advance.

Biographical / Historical

Herbert Stanley Oakeley was born in Ealing on 22 July 1830. He was educated at Rugby and studied at Christ Church, Oxford, where he graduated in 1853. He also studied at Dresden and Leipzig. Between 1858 and 1868 he was the music critic of The Guardian. Oakeley was appointed Professor of Music at Edinburgh University in 1865 by which time he had established his reputation as an organist, composer, and musician. He was knighted in 1876 and was made Composer of Music to Queen Victoria in Scotland in 1881. Oakeley resigned his Chair in 1891. Professor Sir Herbert Stanley Oakeley died on 26 October 1903.


4 boxes

Other Finding Aids

List of Diplomas. Important finding aids generally are: the alphabetical Index to Manuscripts held at Edinburgh University Library, Special Collections and Archives, consisting of typed slips in sheaf binders and to which additions were made until 1987; and the Index to Accessions Since 1987.

Custodial History

To Edinburgh University Library, Special Collections, from the Reid Music Library, April 2001. Was EUA accession Acc 01/018.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Accession No: E2006.09, March 2006.

Related Materials

Related material at Dc.4.101-103 Oakeley, Dk.2.14, p.14, Dk.7.38/5, being: Letters to Bennett, purchased January 1967, Accession no. E67.3; Letter to Leeds, purchased October 1968, Accession no. E68.29; Letter to publishers, purchased October 1968, Accession no. E68.30; Letter about articles, purchased November 1968, Accession no. E68.40. There is also a portrait photograph at JY 1202.

Processing Information

Material re-packaged from previous storage. Re-wrapped but still requires conservation work. Poor soiled condition (at 23/03/06).

Catalogue description imported from ArchivesHub in April 2022.

Music Collection of Professor Sir Herbert Stanley Oakley, 1855-1901
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the University of Edinburgh Library Heritage Collections Repository

Centre for Research Collections
University of Edinburgh Main Library
George Square
Edinburgh EH8 9LJ Scotland
+44(0)131 650 8379