Skip to main content

South Lothian District, Lothian Health Board

Identifier: LHB28

Scope and Contents

Management 1974-1984; administration 1974-1983


  • Creation: 1974-1984

Language of Materials


Conditions Governing Access

Normal 30 year Scottish closure rules apply

Biographical / Historical

Formed in 1974, the South Lothian District of Lothian Health Board was superseded by hospital and community based units of management in 1984. It consisted of the following hospitals: Astley Ainslie, Bruntsfield Hospital, Chalmers, City, Deaconess, Edinburgh Dental Hospital and School, Elsie Inglis, Liberton, Loanhead, Longmore, Princess Margaret Rose, Rosslynlee, Royal Hospital for Sick Children, Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh, Simpson Memorial Maternity Pavilion, Southfield Hospital, and Royal Edinburgh Hospital.


2.6 shelf metres: bound volumes, papers


Chronological within record class

Other Finding Aids

Manual item-level descriptive list available

Custodial History

Records held within the National Health Service prior to transfer

Immediate Source of Acquisition

W J Farquhar, District Administrator, South Lothian District, July 1984 and Dr Gruer, Community Medicine Specialist, St Roque, Astley Ainslie Hospital, September 1985


No further accessions are expected

Related Materials

Lothian Health Board (LHB37)

South Lothian District, Lothian Health Board
Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script

Repository Details

Part of the Lothian Health Services Archive Repository

Centre for Research Collections
Edinburgh University Library
George Square
Edinburgh EH8 9LJ Scotland
+44 (0)131 650 3392