Skip to main content


Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings
Scope Note: Created For = NAHSTE

Found in 403 Collections and/or Records:

General: 1950-1951, 1950-1951

Identifier: BAI 1/17/32
Scope and Contents Correspondence and related items, including letters from his wife Florence Jewel Baillie, his brother Donald Macpherson Baillie, Sir Zwinglius Frank Willis, Thomas Stearns Eliot and Reinhold Niebuhr. Includes material relating to the erection of a gravestone for John Baillie's cousin, Elizabeth Catherine Gallant, BBC broadcasts, biographical information on Alexander Martin, and a visit to France.
Dates: 1950-1951

Historical notes relating to the marriages and offspring of Clan Donald and accompanying archaeological notes about chapels, 1894

Identifier: Coll-97/CW122/186
Scope and Contents Historical notes relating to the marriages and offspring of Clan Donald Godfrey of Siol Gorrie [S├Čol Goraidh] and Donald first Earl of Ross, John Earl of Antrim and Alexander of Lochaber. Accompanying archaeological notes relate to chapels built close to each other.
Dates: 1894

Items relating to or assembled by Ian Fowler Baillie, 1909-1966

Identifier: BAI 4
Scope and Contents The items relating to or assembled by Ian Fowler Baillie consist of:
  1. biographical notes on John Baillie and the wider family
  2. papers relating to John Baillie
  3. press cuttings
  4. school reports
Dates: 1909-1966

Journal account of departure of Eoghan Carmichael's departure for Africa, 6 May 1893 to 13 May 1893

Identifier: Coll-97/CW126g/1
Scope and Contents Journal account written by Alexander Carmichael of the departure of his son Eoghan for Africa describing seeing him off at Waverley Station, Edinburgh, noting who met him in London and that he set sail on the 'SS Scot' from London, England for Chinde, East Africa [Mozambique]. Of his departure, Carmichael writes 'Poor darling boy! We shall not see him at the soonest for five years - perhaps never. God alone knows. This is the first break in the family.'
Dates: 6 May 1893 to 13 May 1893

Journal entry on leaving Tarasaigh/Taransay and accompanying biographical note, 11 July 1870

Identifier: Coll-97/CW116/69
Scope and Contents Journal entry on leaving Tarasaigh/Taransay having been there for '4 nights & 3 days and rec[eive]d much kindness' and accompanying biographical note about Mrs MacDonald of Taransay that three of her grandfathers were 'tighearnan' and that her 'g[rea]t grandfath[er] had all the mount[ain]s and Aoi [Uidh] &c &c.'
Dates: 11 July 1870

Journal of Sir Roderick Impey Murchison, 1792-1815

Identifier: Coll-51/3/1
Scope and Contents 1 volume giving details of Murchison's early life and family ( 1792-1815), with enclosed notes
Dates: 1792-1815

Letter regarding Ross Husband, 02 March 1917

Identifier: BAI 1/8/1/5
Scope and Contents Letter from John Baillie to [David Morison] Ross, detailing/assessing the student life, philosophy and general character of Peter Ross Husband (deceased), and quoted at length in Ross's biography of Husband.
Dates: 02 March 1917

Letter to Alexander MacMillan from Joseph Beete Jukes, 20 September 1860

Identifier: Coll-74/11/3/16
Scope and Contents Letter to Alexander MacMillan from Joseph Beete Jukes explaining that he has enclosed an example of the sort of material he could submit for the biography of Edward Forbes. He lists other possible topics and asks for confirmation that they will be required before spending time on them.
Dates: 20 September 1860

Letter to [Alexander MacMillan] from Joseph Beete Jukes, 14 October 1860

Identifier: Coll-74/11/3/17
Scope and Contents Letter to [Alexander MacMillan] from Joseph Beete Jukes recommending which photograph of Edward Forbes to use in the biography, which parts of the manuscript he will be forwarding to use, and giving some anecdotes from his life.
Dates: 14 October 1860

Letter to Clara Tovey from Mary Beasley, 23 July 1940

Identifier: Coll-411/1/1/L2029
Scope and Contents Letter, 23 July 1940, Northampton, Mary Beasley to Clara Tovey. Covering note for memoirs of Tovey and sympathetic words. Holograph signed.
Dates: 23 July 1940