Skip to main content

Voyages and Travel

 Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings
Scope Note: Created For = NAHSTE

Found in 200 Collections and/or Records:

Note entitled 'Wolves', c1892

 Item
Identifier: Coll-97/CW122/108
Scope and Contents Note entitled 'Wolves' stating that there was a hospital in Flixton, Folkton, Yorkshire [Sasainn/England] 'to preserve travellers from being devoured by the wolves and other wild beasts of the district.' This was said to be in the time of Athelstane and Carmichael adds a reminder to 'See Leprosey (sic)'. Text has been scored through in pencil.
Dates: c1892

Notebook of Alexander Carmichael, 1856-1880

 Series
Identifier: Coll-97/CW109
Scope and Contents Notebook belonging to Alexander Carmichael made up of three excise notebooks marked 'Journal', 'Account Current' and 'Bills Receivable'/'Bills Payable' and a single folio. The first book is marked on the front with 'Carbost June 13 1861 Alexander Carmichael' [Càrabost, An t-Eilean Sgitheanach/Isle of Skye].The second book is inscribed with the same text on the front cover and the inside front covers reads 'Alasdair A Mac 'Illemhicheil Cillendraisd, Liosmor' [Cill Anndrais/Killandrist, Lios...
Dates: 1856-1880

Notes on a trip to London, c 1864

 Item
Identifier: Coll-97/CW439
Scope and Contents Alexander Carmichael's account of a visit to London.
Dates: c 1864

Notes on place-names and archaeology made on a journey between Caolas Stiatair House and Tarbert market, 7 July 1870

 Item
Identifier: Coll-97/CW116/1
Scope and Contents Notes on place-names and archaeology made on a journey between Caolas Stiatair House and Tarbert market [An Tairbeart, Na Hearadh/Isle of Harris] with Rev. Don[ald] Macintosh [MacKintosh], S[outh] Uist [Uibhist a Deas] and Mr Archie MacRae, Huisinnish [Huisinis]. The notes are quite abbreviated but include a mention of trap dykes at Loch chistevad [Loch Cisteabhat] in the middle of which was a castle, which someone tried to drain to get to the castle but failed; and a note that nearby at Clach...
Dates: 7 July 1870

Observations made on a boat journey between Tarbert and Isle of Taransay, 7 August 1870

 Item
Identifier: Coll-97/CW116/3
Scope and Contents Observations made on a boat journey in Loch Tarbert/Loch an Tairbeairt, Na Hearadh/Isle of Harris, describing the scenery around the loch including 'fine high mountains', the island of Iosaigh, whch is 'like Iosai at Dun an Tarcul is a high hill on the point of Loscintir' [possibly Aoineag Tarcall], that 'Boisdale on s[outh] side [of] L[och] Tarbert [is] a coire deep & pretty' [Bìtheasdail], noting 'Yo'aveag & Yo'a'vor' on each side of the corrie [Geodha Bheag and Geodha Mhòr] and that...
Dates: 7 August 1870

Papers of James Anderson (1771-1817), 1794-1820

 Sub-Fonds — CLX-A-348
Identifier: coll-1835/6
Scope and Contents This subfonds includes: Letters from James to his father and his brother relating his experience on board ship when he went to sea as a surgeon's mate in the service of the East India Company in their ship Dutton, bound for Madras, 1794-1795 Receipts, rates and taxes, 1798-1805 Note by James Anderson entitled 'Receipt for the Dropsy' (recipe for a drug), and receipt for medical...
Dates: 1794-1820

Papers of James Anderson (1806-1833), 1822-1829

 Sub-Fonds — CLX-A-349
Identifier: coll-1835/12
Scope and Contents This subfonds consists of c. 15 letters, mainly between James and his parents regarding his professional life and his travels. Also include a letter from his sister Euphemia, and from Mr Lothian, who briefly employed him, to his father Robert Anderson.
Dates: 1822-1829

Papers of the Harman family

 Fonds
Identifier: Coll-1906
Scope and Contents Sketchbooks and papers relating to the Harman family and their travel around Europe, including Ireland and Italy.
Dates: 1890s-1935

Papers relating to James Campbell, of Carsphairn

 Fonds
Identifier: Coll-1234
Scope and Contents The collection of papers includes: an account of the population of the parish of Kells, Kirkcudbright - June 1811 letter to James Campbell at York Place, Edinburgh, from his father, William Campbell, prior to his departing for France with the Hart family, and with news that the family had 'flitted into the new house' and that there were problems 'of thatching and damp floor' which would 'cost...
Dates: 1811-1816

Part of a story entitled 'Rocabarrai', 1871

 Item
Identifier: Coll-97/CW119/21
Scope and Contents The second part of a story entitled 'Rocabarrai' collected from Donald MacKinnon, aged 98½ years, Dalabrog/Daliburgh, Uibhist a Deas/South Uist. The first part begins at folio 43r. The story continues telling how while lost at sea and welcomed onto an unknown island after a year and a day one of the ship's crew saw a vessel passing by and wanted to get on it to return home. This he was allowed to do and after another year and a day another crew member wished the same and after another year and...
Dates: 1871