Skip to main content

Chancellor, 1930-1983

Identifier: EUA IN1/GOV/Da.11

Scope and Contents

Files, arranged by Chancellor, relating to their election, installation and also including related material. Covering the following individuals:

  1. Sir James Matthew Barrie
  2. Lord Tweedsmuir
  3. Marquess of Linlithgow
  4. H.R.H. Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh


  • Creation: 1930-1983


Language of Materials

This material is in English

Conditions Governing Access

Certain material may be restricted due to Data Protection and other legislative reasons.

Biographical / Historical

Along with the Rector and Vice-Chancellor, the office of Chancellor was instituted following the 1858 Act. Elected by the General Council, the office is normally held for life and has been held by:

  1. 1859 - Rt.Hon. Henry, Lord Brougham and Vaux, LL.D.
  2. 1868 - Rt.Hon. John Inglis, D.C.L., LL.D.
  3. 1891 - Rt.Hon. Earl of Balfour, Arthur J. Balfour, MP., D.C.L., LL.D.
  4. 1930 - Sir James Matthew Barrie, Bart., O.M., M.A., LL.D.,. D.Litt.
  5. 1937 - John Buchan, 1st Baron Tweedsmuir
  6. 1944 - The Most Honourable The Marquess of Linlithgow, K.G., K.T.
  7. 1952 - H.R.H. Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh
  8. 2011 - H.R.H. Anne, Princess Royal


1 box

Archivist's Note

Grant Buttars 14 April 2004

Repository Details

Part of the University of Edinburgh Library Heritage Collections Repository

Centre for Research Collections
University of Edinburgh Main Library
George Square
Edinburgh EH8 9LJ Scotland
+44(0)131 650 8379