Skip to main content

File Series 'A', 1833-1987

Identifier: EUA IN1/ADS/SEC/A

Scope and Contents

Files in 13 subseries:

  1. Faculty of Arts (1872-1977)
  2. Bequests (1912-1987)
  3. Faculty of Divinity (1927-1984)
  4. Faculty of Law (1919-1958)
  5. Lectures (1885-1965)
  6. Faculty of Medicine (1833-1971)
  7. Miscellaneous (1884-1981)
  8. Faculty of Music (1891-1954)
  9. Faculty of Science (1907-1956)
  10. Students (1885-1986)
  11. Universities of Scotland Organisation and Methods Unit: Reports (1967-1984)
  12. University Grants Committee (1919-1971)
  13. Faculty of Veterinary Medicine (1924-1954)


  • Creation: 1833-1987


Conditions Governing Access

Certain material may be restricted due to the Data Protection, 1998, and other legislative reasons.

Biographical / Historical

The University Court and the Senatus Academicus had separate Secretaries until 1918. Following the recommendations of a Joint Committee of Court and Senatus (set up by Sir Richard Lodge in 1916), the position of University Secretary was established. It took over from the Secretaries of Court and Senatus and also oversaw the general secretarial business of the University.


429 box files


This material is arranged according to a system devised by Michael Westcott and applied retrospectively (i.e. this material was not necessarily kept in this order when it was in use). Detailed in Appendix A of Wesctott Report on Survey of File Records - 1709 to 1996.

Repository Details

Part of the University of Edinburgh Library Heritage Collections Repository

Centre for Research Collections
University of Edinburgh Main Library
George Square
Edinburgh EH8 9LJ Scotland
+44(0)131 650 8379