Skip to main content

Interior decoration

Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 38 Collections and/or Records:

Res.2.22 Male resident, c.50 yrs, married, corporation tenant, male interviewer, 8 March 1961

Identifier: EUA IN1/ACU/S3/4/2/2/22
Scope and Contents Summary includes a description of his living accommodation and outside space. Other topics discussed include: The neighbourhood and social contacts; television, cars; money.INTVEE is described as rather aggressive but not unfriendly. He lives on the ground floor of a two storey block with his wife and two children aged 15 and 12. He has older children who no longer live at home. He'd like to move if he could. His house is a four-apartment, he likes it but thinks the rent is too...
Dates: Other: 8 March 1961

Res.3.10 Female resident, 37 yrs, married, corporation tenant, female interviewer, 10 May 1961

Identifier: EUA IN1/ACU/S3/4/2/3/10
Scope and Contents INTVER describes the address as "the same drab mileau, the same kind of grubby stair". The INTVEEs husband has done extensive renovation inside. The bathroom is papered with pink roses, the paintwork is bright pink, the water system has been boxed in and the lavatory chain replaced with a knob. The kitchen has been lined with fitted cupboards and drawers and formica tops and painted blue. INTVER describes INTVEE as someone who "might well be regarded by her rather more refined neighbours as...
Dates: Other: 10 May 1961

Res.3.11 Female resident, 33 yrs, married, owner occupier, female interviewer, 12 May 1961

Identifier: EUA IN1/ACU/S3/4/2/3/11
Scope and Contents INTVEE lives with her husband and two children. INTVER describes the street as having "Quite pleasant gardens. Lawnmowers clanking round" and has been told that the houses were built by the Cockburn Association and factored by Gumleys. The houses are still mostly rented but are to be sold when they become vacant. They are not advertised but are in high demand. INTVEE likes her house but is not so positive about the district. She thinks the area is good for children, there is a garden. Pilton...
Dates: Other: 12 May 1961

Res.3.14 Female resident, age unknown, married, corporation tenant, female interviewer, 18 July 1961

Identifier: EUA IN1/ACU/S3/4/2/3/14
Scope and Contents Topics discussed include: Neighbourhood; employment and finance; local amenities; education: leisure; child rearing.Neighbourhood: INTVEE describes the street as friendly and neighbours as helpful, no drunkenness or brawls. Her husband thinks the Doo'cot pub is rowdy.House: INTVER describes the house as "very bare, the wallpaper dirty and torn, scanty and shabby furniture with bright pink lino from which the pattern has been largely rubbed off. There's an old TV and...
Dates: Other: 18 July 1961

Res.3.19 Female resident, age unknown, married, corporation tenant, female interviewer, 26 July 1961

Identifier: EUA IN1/ACU/S3/4/2/3/19
Scope and Contents INTVEE lives in a top flat in block of eight. She was the first tenant but the rest were filled with families within a week. She likes her flat very much and also her neighbours but finds the area depresses her very much. She wanted to go to Clermiston but was told she would have to wait a long time. She had bought furniture in preparation for moving and kept it in storage. INTVER notes that there is minimum equipment, no alternative water heating system other than the fireside boiler and...
Dates: Other: 26 July 1961

Res.3.22 Female resident, age unknown, married, corporation tenant, male interviewer, 1 June 1961

Identifier: EUA IN1/ACU/S3/4/2/3/22
Scope and Contents INTVEE lives with her husband, children and father. The kitchen has been repainted in yellow and green which INTVER describes as "a little bit flashy". He also comments that "the general appearance of the living room is extremely scruffy with rather dirty dull wallpaper and stain on the woodwork and very tattered lino and bits of mat on the floor. The furniture is rather rickety and worn as well". INTVEE says they want to re-do the whole house. INTVER comments on the numerous interruptions...
Dates: Other: 1 June 1961

Res.3.23 Married couple, fifties, corporation tenants, male interviewer, 1 June 1961

Identifier: EUA IN1/ACU/S3/4/2/3/23
Scope and Contents INTVEEs live with their two sons and wife's brother in a three apartment house. They had previously lived in a six apartment basement flat in town but had to leave as the building was unsafe. Wife would like to leave this flat has it is too overcrowded but otherwise likes the district. She thinks the balcony would be more useful as part of the interior and just makes the rooms darker. INTVER agrees that the balconies on the ground floor serve no function other than an aesthetic one but...
Dates: Other: 1 June 1961

Res.3.25 Married couple, ages unknown, corporation tenants, male interviewer, 8 June 1961

Identifier: EUA IN1/ACU/S3/4/2/3/25
Scope and Contents INTVEEs moved into their flat three weeks ago from Leith. They moved in in one day and didn't meet anyone but spent the day arranging their furniture. They found themselves whispering to each other on the first day then wondered why they were being so quiet, they find the district pleasant and quiet with all the children quiet by 9pm which is the time they were starting to get noisy down in Leith. They have two children, the eldest child still goes to school in Leith, the youngest is not yet...
Dates: Other: 8 June 1961

Res.3.26 Summary of a visit to "The Anchor", 8 June 1961

Identifier: EUA IN1/ACU/S3/4/2/3/26
Scope and Contents Summary by a male researcher of a visit to the pub on West Granton Road at 8.30pm on Thursday evening. There were about 45 men in the main large public bar at the time of his visit. He describes the interior as "rather dully decorated in a 1939-ish style. The walls were stucco, mainly cream with little red and green stripes in it. There were two rather crude nautical pictures, which were rather more like designs. The floors were rather nondescript dirty composition tile, the furniture...
Dates: Other: 8 June 1961

Res.4.19 Female resident, 53 yrs, married, corporation tenant, male interviewer, 9 October 1961

Identifier: EUA IN1/ACU/S3/4/2/4/19
Scope and Contents INTVEE lives on a ground floor five apartment house. There are six adults including her married daughter and two children. When she married they lived with her mother but then got a house near Victoria Street where there were eight on the stair and they were the only Protestants. Her mother made her feel guilty about no longer having any money coming in but she hadn't approved of the marriage and was always trying to cause trouble. INTVEE likes her present house, her only complaint is the...
Dates: Other: 9 October 1961