Skip to main content

Liverpool School of Architecture Society, 1937-1938

Identifier: PJM/UOL/E

Scope and Contents

File of correspondence, minutes and lists of former students of the Liverpool School of Architecture. These relate to the formation of the Liverpool School of Architecture Society for former students of the School. The file also contains information concerning the organisation of the inaugural dinner on 25 March 1938, including a black and white photographic print (20cm x 30cm) and a seating plan.


  • Creation: 1937-1938


Language of Materials

This material is in English

Physical Description

1 file

Conditions Governing Access


Biographical / Historical

After leaving Liverpool School of Architecture at the University of Liverpool, Percy Johnson-Marshall, along with fellow former student Robert H Shaw, were instrumental in setting up the Liverpool School of Architecture Society as a club for former students. He established the club collected names and addresses and organised an inaugural dinner on the 25 March 1938 which over 50 attended. At this dinner a committee was formed to administer the club, with Professor Lionel Bailey Budden as President, Robert Joseph Gardner-Medwin amongst the Executive Committee and Percy Johnson-Marshall as the Honorary Secretary . The club does not appear to have had a long-life, with the last mentioned activity in this collection being a film and supper evening on the 27 October 1938.


From the Sub-Fonds: 0.5 metres