Skip to main content

Photographs

 Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings
Scope Note: Created For = NAHSTE

Found in 390 Collections and/or Records:

12 stereo views of Scotland, 1891, B. W. Kilburn, Littleton NH

 Fonds
Identifier: Coll-1554
Scope and Contents The views are of: 6322 Oban, its harbour, and Mull, Scotland 6310 Loch Katrine Boat Landing, Highlands, Scotland 6303 Birthplace of Robert Burns, Ayr, Scotland 6297 The Bonnie Doon, Burns' Lullaby, Ayr, Scotland 6292 Melrose Abbey, Scotland 6280 Sir William Wallace's Prison, Dumbarton Castle, Scotland ...
Dates: 1880-1910

A photograph of medical students graduation, and a photograph of the International Physiological Congress at Edinburgh, 1920s

 Item
Identifier: Coll-1848/19-0157
Scope and Contents

One framed photograph of the International Physiological Congress held in Edinburgh in 1923, showing the c. 300 delegates in the Quadrangle of the Old Medical School of the University. Names are given around the photo.


The second photograph has no caption whatsoever, but probably is a graduation photograph. The group includes E. Scharpey-Schafer, Professor of Physiology at the University of Edinburgh from 1899 to 1933. It was taken by E. R. Yerbury and Son.

Dates: 1920s

Albums containing autograph letters to Sir Charles Lyell and family, and portraits of the writers, compiled by Leonard Lyell

 Fonds
Identifier: Coll-1997
Content Description This collection consists of two albums compiled by Leonard Lyell, nephew of Charles Lyell and son of Katharine Murray Lyell. The volumes contain letters sent by many leading scientists and scholars of the 19th century to Sir Charles Lyell and others in his family, such as his wife Mary, the elder Charles Lyell, Mary’s father Leonard Horner, and his brother Francis Horner. In both albums, most of the letters are accompanied by a facing photograph or portrait print of the letter’s...
Dates: 1805-1899

"An aircraft factory for Liverpool" - photographs, 1935-1936

 File
Identifier: PJM/UOL/A/6/4
Scope and Contents

Photographs of architectural drawings (20cm x 30cm) by Percy Johnson-Marshall, created for his final thesis project "An aircraft factory for Liverpool", undertaken as a fifth year student at the Liverpool School of Architecture.

Dates: 1935-1936

Armstrong, William, 21 July 1863; 29 August 1863

 File
Identifier: Coll-1989/1
Scope and Contents Two autograph letters signed from Sir William Armstrong to Sir Charles Lyell.1. Letter dated 21 July 1863: "It will be quite convenient to receive you & Lady Lyell with her servant on the 29th Aug[us]t & Lady Armstrong and I hope you will not hesitate to come. I have several houses available for sleeping within a few hundred yards of my own & I have abundance of room in all other aspects [...]".2. Letter dated 29 August 1863: "I am very sorry that we are...
Dates: 21 July 1863; 29 August 1863

Arnold, Matthew, 8 March 1977

 Item
Identifier: Coll-1989/2
Scope and Contents Unpublished letter by Matthew Arnold to the botanist Frances Joanna Horner, Lady Bunbury, living near Bury St Edmunds: “My dear Lady Bunbury, It is very odd that only last night at a house when I was leaving somebody was expressing surprise at my not having quoted my father about [Lord] Falkland; and now this morning comes your kind letter and reproaches me with the same thing. But the truth is, it is difficult for a son to quote his father; one cannot quite quote him as if he was a...
Dates: 8 March 1977

Arrivabene, Giovanni, 20 June 1866

 File
Identifier: Coll-1989/3
Scope and Contents Autograph letter in Italian from Giovanni Arrivabene to probably to Susan or Joanna Horner about his departure to Turin the next day and his regretting not being able to follow their invitation: "Il Conte Arrivabene parte domani par Torino. Non potrà quindi, con molto suo rincrescimento approffittare del grazioso invito di M Horner". After living in Switzerland, France, England and Belgium, Arrivabene returned to Italy in 1860 where he became a senator and president of the Italian National...
Dates: 20 June 1866

Assortment of items originally contained loosely in a bound volume, 1927-1957

 Sub-Series
Identifier: Coll-1057/3/5
Scope and Contents

These items consist of a bound volume and seven envelopes. The envelopes contain material which has been removed from the volume and consists of a variety of photographs, correspondence, typescripts, ephemera and newspaper clippings. The bound volume still contains some items which have been affixed inside, namely: a letter to Greenwood relating to his service with the Home Guard (January 1945) and various newspaper clippings and articles.

Dates: 1927-1957

Barrie, James Matthew, 8 September [1893]; [14 May 1897]

 File
Identifier: Coll-1989/4
Scope and Contents Two autographs letters signed from James Matthew Barrie to Katherine Murray Horner. One letter is written when she is Barrie’s neighbour in his native Kirriemuir (dated 8 September [1893]), the other to her home at 9 Cornwall Gardens, South Kensington: "Yes, delighted. [...] I am struggling with a love scene. If it wins I’ll send it in my place. Yours ever [...]". (14 May 1897; date from a pencil note, likely by the recipient, inside the envelope flap).Includes addressed...
Dates: 8 September [1893]; [14 May 1897]

Black and white photographic portraits, mostly of artists, Undated

 Item
Identifier: Coll-41/9/5/7
Scope and Contents

Photographic portraits of various artists: Ivan Miro, Fernand Leger, Yves Tanquy (by Man Ray), Alberto Giacometti, Marcel Duchamp, Georges Braque (2 copies), Max Ernst, Picasso (by Man Ray). Also includes a photograph of Dame Honour Fell and one featuring an unidentified individual.

Dates: Undated