Skip to main content

Portraits

 Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings
Scope Note: Created For = NAHSTE

Found in 88 Collections and/or Records:

Letter to Hubert James Foss from Morris Meredith Williams, 26 May 1942

 Item
Identifier: Coll-411/1/1/L2645
Scope and Contents

Letter, 26 May 1942, Devon, M. Meredith Williams to Hubert Foss. Discussing Meredith Williams paintings and sketches of Tovey. Holograph signed.

Dates: 26 May 1942

Letter to [Hubert James Foss] from Sir William Rothenstein, 18 January 1942

 Item
Identifier: Coll-411/1/1/L2440
Scope and Contents

Letter, 18 January 1942, William Rothenstein to [Hubert Foss]. Reminiscences of Tovey and informing Foss that Rothenstein made two drawings of Tovey. Holograph signed.

Dates: 18 January 1942

Letter to James Cossar Ewart from Elliott and Fry, 10 June 1904

 Item
Identifier: Coll-14/9/10/65
Scope and Contents

Elliott and Fry invite Ewart to make an appointment with a photographer for his portrait, to appear in their Publishing Series.

Dates: 10 June 1904

Letter to James Cossar Ewart from James Ritchie, 10 June 1931

 Item
Identifier: Coll-14/9/37/3
Scope and Contents

Ritchie wonders if Ewart's research on plumage could be furthered by examining the succession of plumage in, for instance, a diving duck such as the Eider, as it is near enough to the mallard to promise results but not near enough to suggest identity of development. He then requests a copy of Ewart's portrait to hang in his office at Aberdeen University 'to commemorate your holding of the Aberdeen Chair'.

Dates: 10 June 1931

Letter to James Cossar Ewart from The Biograph Studio, 23 September 1904

 Item
Identifier: Coll-14/9/10/103
Scope and Contents

The Society request thats Ewart sits for a portrait to appear in their 'University Series'.

Dates: 23 September 1904

Letter to Sophie Weisse from A. D. Lumsden, 21 May 1941

 Item
Identifier: Coll-411/1/1/L2278
Scope and Contents

Letter, 21 May 1941, Oxford, A. D. Lumsden to Sophie Weisse. Thanking Miss. Weisse for sending a chalk drawing of Tovey to Balliol college, Oxford. Holograph signed, with stamped envelope.

Dates: 21 May 1941

Leveson-Gower, Granville, 24 April 1853; 26 June 1864; no date

 File
Identifier: Coll-1989/39
Scope and Contents Three autograph letters sign from George Leveson-Gower, 2nd Earl Granville, to Sir Charles Lyell. From Bruton Street and Harley Street, London.1. Letter dated 24 April 1853: "It would give Lord Ellesmere [Francis Egerton, 1st Earl of Ellesmere] great pleasure to see you, & I think it desirable that you should do so. I hope he is well again, but he has been laid up for two or three days [...]".2. Letter dated 26 June 1864: "Her Majesty has most graciously consented...
Dates: 24 April 1853; 26 June 1864; no date

Lushington, Stephen, 9 June 1843

 File
Identifier: Coll-1989/40
Scope and Contents

Autograph letter signed from Stephen Lushington to Leonard Horner, dated 9 June 1843: “I saw Ld. [...] yesterday & the result is, as you anticipated, that there is no real difficulty seen [?] as to the lots. I have informed the [?] sellers how the matter stands. On Monday I am to see Ld. John. If the Committee is to give up the Vote all may be satisfactorily arranged [...]”.

Dates: 9 June 1843

Mallet, John Lewis, 16 September [no year], 24 September 1856.

 File
Identifier: Coll-1989/44
Scope and Contents 1. Autograph letter signed from John Lewis Mallet to Katharine Murray Horner, Hampstead, 16 September [no year]. Mallet finds a very kind tone of the wise old man in corresponding with the young friend. – I. (16 Sept. [1856?]): “I have so little to communicate from this small quiet Domestic circle, & this little I have to say is made so unintelligible by my infirm hand that I believe I should have thrown myself on your indulgence and awaited your return to thank your for your kind...
Dates: 16 September [no year], 24 September 1856.

Mallet, Louis, 12 May, 5 June, and 18 November 1889

 File
Identifier: Coll-1989/45
Scope and Contents 1. Autograph letter signed from Louis Mallet to Katharine Murray Lyell, dated 12 May 1889: “We are coming again to London next Wed[nesday] to stay a few days with the Thrings [i. e. probably the family of the educator Edward Thring] – & shall I hope see you. I will speak to Lord without word the letters. But my impression is that it is Spencer Walpole [i. e. the English historian and civil servant] who is editing Lord Russell. He too is in town, & I shall probably see him. I am...
Dates: 12 May, 5 June, and 18 November 1889